review_top_img

We have used other companies for trips down the Grand Canyon, Hells Canyon, and the Salmon. Holiday delivered an equal or better experience for a fraction of the cost. We strongly endorse the idea of non-motorized trips through Cataract Canyon. Absence of an outboard lashed to the back and puttering away detracts from the larger experience. Less than a month after completing the Cataract Canyon trip, we are laying plans to float the Yampa next year. Holiday River Expeditions met or exceeded all of our expectations. Our guides were experienced, approachable, and efficient. Holiday has become our new go to source for river trips, and who knows, maybe a bicycle trip or two.

Ross & Kathy Wiggins, WA

tripadvisor
yelp

Cataract Sept 7-12, 2014

Sep 14, 2014 by Sally Swartz

Loved this trip. Beautiful canyon and crew was terrific - professional, ecological, helpful, competent and delightful. Would and will recommend your company to others. Hope to book with you for June 2016 combo bike and raft of yampa. How early do I need to plan?
View More


Guides Were Magic With The Dutch Oven

Aug 26, 2014 by Tania Farrar

I wasn't really sure what I was getting myself into when I had agreed to go on this trip with a group of friends. Brin and Alex were our tour guides and they were awesome! They were very friendly and knowledgeable. Not only did I get to take in the breathtaking scenery around me, I also learned a lot about the history of the area. The hikes were a little difficult but incredibly rewarding. And the food was delicious! It's incredible what these guides can cook outside the normal kitchen. One night we had filet mignon with freshly baked brownies (yes, they made a Dutch oven)! This was one of the greatest experiences I've had and I will definitely be coming back and booking a trip with Holiday River Expeditions in the future. Thank you for a memorable time!
View More


Didn’t Want To Leave

Aug 24, 2014 by Tara Kelly

The guides were entertaining and hardworking. The scenery in Lodore canyon was S-P-E-C-T-A-C-U-L-A-R. Our family had an awesome time. We didn't want to leave.
View More


Refreshing To “Unplug”

Aug 23, 2014 by Daniel & Joan West

I was apprehensive at first because I don't care to "rough it" anymore. As it turned out, our family had a great time. No computers or phones = perfect. The guides were great, the weather was great and the scenery was awesome.
View More


Loved The Kayak Workshop

Aug 20, 2014 by Pete Litz

All aspects of the trip exceeded my expectations. Chet was a phenomenal trip leader. Andy did a super job with the kayak workshop. The Kayak Workshop is the trip of a lifetime. If you are physically capable of paddling for six days, you owe it to yourself to try it.
View More


Night Time Circles Around The Campfire

Aug 19, 2014 by Sameer & Carin Giga

Our guides, Ben, Tim and Peter were fantastic. They made our time on the river really fun. They're also great cooks! We went on the Gates of Lodore trip, and the entire experience was phenomenal! The scenery was breathtaking, the rapids were exciting, and our guides made the whole experience a ton of fun. We loved everything: the hikes, the amazingly delicious meals, the inflatable kayaks, and the circle time at night around the campfire. Everything was better than we could have imagined, and we can't wait for our next river trip!
View More


Lack Of Electronics Does Wonders For Connecting

Aug 19, 2014 by Will T. & Susan Goldsmith

Overall, being on the river with friends is the best experience ever. You unwind and with no electronics you actually visit, talk and connect with people. The trip was amazing!
View More


Best River Trip

Aug 19, 2014 by Susan Soloyanis

Best river trip ever! Great guides, food, and weather.
View More


It's Liberating To Be "Off The Grid"

Aug 17, 2014 by Erwin & Tanya Kratz

Lodore Canyon was beautiful. It was a great time on the river unplugging from the stresses of work. Mike and Doug were very knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. I would encourage anyone considering a river trip to go ahead and book it. If you enjoy the outdoors and being off the grid, you'll love this trip!
View More


Terrific On Every Note

Aug 16, 2014 by Ron Weales

The river was great, the plane ride was incredible, the rapids were awesome, the food was amazing and the weather was cooperative.
View More


The Weather Actually Enhanced Our Trip!

Aug 16, 2014 by Mike & Sue Yeoman

This was a terrific end to our short trip through Utah. Two days on the river was just enough time to unplug. Our guides were experts in handling the rafts, setting up camp, cooking and delivering a good time. They even arranged for lightning and thunderstorms to keep us amused. In spite of heavy rain and lightning, I never felt at risk on the river. As soon as we were able, we took shelter in an old prospector's cabin. We were delighted to see multiple red flash flood waterfalls as we progressed down river. It was likely a once in a lifetime experience for most of us. Susan, Julian, KC and Larkin provided a very enjoyable trip!
View More


Shimmering Water & Gorgeous Evenings

Aug 14, 2014 by Susannah Churchill

This rafting trip was some of the most relaxing and beautiful nature time I can remember! The guides did all the hard work, served up delicious meals, and were fountains of information about the plants and animals and the history of the area. I was awed by towering canyon walls, shimmering water and gorgeous evening clouds. It was a delight from start to finish.
View More


Absolute Heaven

Aug 10, 2014 by Beth Stauffer

The food was AMAZING! The trip was absolute heaven. Such beautiful scenery brings peace to your soul. The guides were genuinely concerned about creating a great experience! I can't imagine a summer without a river trip with Holiday!
View More


The Cure To "Nature Deficit Disorder"

Aug 06, 2014 by John & Nancy Rasmuson

Thanks to everyone. But especially the guides who were thoughtful care takers of our extended family and their individual needs (8-68 years old). If your kids are suffering from “Nature Deficit Disorder” in their wired world, ask the doctor to prescribe a float trip on the Green River. You won't be disappointed with the outcome.
View More


Standard Of Excellence

Aug 05, 2014 by Thomas Bensen & Roberta Facinelli

We rafted with Holiday many years ago in Lodore Canyon, and again last week in Westwater Canyon. I'm happy to report that the standard of excellence is still the same after all these years! The guides were knowledgeable and friendly, the food was amazing, and the hikes were terrific!
View More


Excellent Trip and Vacation

Aug 05, 2014 by Victor Rodriguez

I have never been on a whitewater trip before and I took the Yampa River trip in June with my son as a graduation gift for him. Words cannot describe how impressed we were with everything. From the greeting/introductions we received at Vernal headquarters to the instructions prior to getting in the river, the guides were friendly and professional. We went to see soaring canyon walls and whitewater and we got that. But what we also got was gourmet food preparation (WOW), informed guides- they knew about everything, trees, rocks, history, wildlife, all of it! Most important, it was clear safety of their guests was always on their minds. This is an excellent outfitter and there is no rival.
We'll be back.
Victor Rodriguez
View More


Perfect For A Family Reunion

Aug 04, 2014 by David & Kathy Hooke

Guides were terrific. Brin has the magic touch and so obviously loves the river. Zach was spectacular with the kids. The whole team had the right balance of concern for safety and having fun! Hikes were great, but on the first hike we did get pretty spread out; later hikes, were better in terms of pre-trip planning and talk. Food was amazing, what a system! This was a superb family reunion. There was lots of time for floating and chatting, in a truly spectacular setting, with a nice balance of calm and thrills. So nice to have such a competent team taking care of all needs. It made relaxation not just possible but necessary!
View More


I Would Love To Come Again!

Aug 03, 2014 by Claudia McClure

Everything was exceptional and made our trip one to remember. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip down the green river. Both Jessie and Susan were wonderful guides and made our trip special. I would definitely recommend your river trips and would love to come again!
View More


Such A Gorgeous Place

Aug 03, 2014 by Jim Hurley

Great trip through an astonishingly beautiful environment
View More


Guides Were Brilliant With The Children

Aug 02, 2014 by Daniel & Caroline Baker

We had a truly fantastic trip in the Cataract Canyon. Our guides, Alex and Justin, were superb, great company, knowledgeable and brilliant with the children. Food was also excellent, definitely the best food we had on our trip. I would heartily recommend the trip and your company to anyone looking for a fun, relaxing getaway.
View More


Four Straight Days Of Bliss

Aug 01, 2014 by Leah Brasseur

It was a really great 4 days of fun, activity and relaxation.
View More


Another Great Holiday Trip

Aug 01, 2014 by Jan Beck

This being my third trip with Holiday, I had high expectations of every aspect and all expectations were fully met.
View More


Providing The "Gold Standard" For River Rafting

Jul 31, 2014 by Daniel J. Steffen

As a ski instructor and former tour operator myself, I know firsthand what it takes to manage a group on a tour. I have to commend you and your staff for providing the best and most professional customer service imaginable. All your guides were terrific, but Julian and Susan were exceptional as far as their attentiveness to safety, hygiene, maintaining the gear and boats while providing for the comfort of all the guests throughout the entire trip. We were extremely impressed with the cohesiveness of the group and the teamwork exhibited by your staff who worked their “butts” off. The guide’s river running skills and competency speaks for itself, but their knowledge of all aspects of the trip from archaeology, geology, environmental sensitivity, etc. to their culinary and interpersonal skills vastly contributed to and enhanced our total experience. We certainly appreciated the trip and will recommend Holiday River Expeditions whenever the opportunity arises. You and your staff have set the bar high providing the “gold standard” for river rafting in general. Thank you again!
View More


We Had The Best Time

Jul 30, 2014 by Gina Miller

Julian and Rocky were great guides and everyone in our group had the best time! We hope to take another trip again with Holiday Expeditions!
View More


The Key Word: FUN!

Jul 30, 2014 by Steve Epstein

I always try not to have a ton of expectations but you guys exceeded every one of them!
The guides who took us down the Green River were all amazing people who went out of their way to make the trip nothing but seamless fun. The key word here is FUN! This is not an act for these guides, they love what they do and they purposely integrate the guests in to their fun. I cannot stop gushing about how epic the trip was and have already referred several people to Holiday Expeditions.
View More


Like Bike Riding On Mars!

Jul 29, 2014 by John Schils

The trip was wonderful. Guides blew us away with their knowledge, skill, attitude and the meals they prepared... Camping will never be the same! The food far exceeded expectations, wonderful. All meals were excellent, different and I'd have paid good money for them at a restaurant. The overall experience was out of this world! At least outside of what my known world was. I felt like I was riding mountains on Mars and then whitewater rafting... Best vacation ever! The food was excellent even for the most concerned skeptics, and we were in the middle of nowhere camping.
View More


Let's Do It Again!

Jul 28, 2014 by Eric Larsson & Jean Talbot

It was an amazing trip. The guides inspired absolute confidence and were wonderful companions to our party as well. Given the chance I would have gladly turned around and done it again the moment we arrived at Hite.
View More


Great Hiking Opportunities

Jul 27, 2014 by Chandler Bartholomew

The guides, TJ and Sherpa, were awesome!! They provided a wonderful environment and great hiking opportunities. The food was excellent as always, I've been on two other trips a few years earlier. Everything was wonderful!
View More


The Paddle Boat Was A Blast

Jul 26, 2014 by Daniel & Diane Heer

Lodore Canyon was very beautiful. The paddle boat was a blast and Tanner was a great guide. The food was delicious and all the guides were fun to be with. I will recommend this trip to anyone interested in rafting in Utah and Colorado.
View More


Nice To Truly Get Away

Jul 24, 2014 by David Scudamore

We had a terrific trip. The guides took great care of everyone. It was fantastic to feel disconnected from the rest of the world. We will do it again.
View More


I Loved The Salmon & Steak

Jul 23, 2014 by Rachel Tripp

What an amazing trip! Not only were the guides experienced and caring, they were great cooks to boot! Salmon and Steak while camping?! Amazing! I can't wait to book another trip.
View More


One Of The Best Vacations

Jul 22, 2014 by Richard Dean Dyess

Our guides, Susan and Jesse did all they could to make our vacation a success. This was one of the best vacations I have taken.
View More


An Intimate & Beautiful Step Out Of Daily Lives

Jul 22, 2014 by Wayne & Kathy Adams

This trip was among the best we've taken in the last decade. We decided to make this a reunion trip with a few couples from earlier times in our lives. It was a great decision and allowed us to become reacquainted in an atmosphere that was both intimate as well as beautiful. Your guides were truly facilitators of our enjoyment in every possible facet of the experience. Kudos to Holiday Expedition for putting in the hard work that allows people like us to step outside of our daily lives into such an incredible environment.
View More


Had A Blast Swimming & Kayaking!

Jul 21, 2014 by Arthur & Annette McGarr

What exceptionally competent guides. We have enormous respect for their dedication, knowledge, and engagement. We loved this trip. Fantastic scenery for the entire trip, impressive care by guides, always ready to help; fabulous food, guided walks wherever possible, opportunities for swimming, kayaking, and paddle boarding. We will be back for more soon!
View More


Good Old Fashioned Fun!

Jul 20, 2014 by Glen & Natasha Grundy

Our family unit of four (two young boys) had an unforgettable experience! From the rapids, to the fishing, to the wildlife, to the food, to the social interaction, all very enriching and genuine good old fashioned fun!
View More


The Guides Had Great Energy

Jul 19, 2014 by Sarah Benvenuti

Love the trip! The guides were enthusiastic. We were the first trip of the season, so it did sometimes feel like they were still getting used to the schedule again, but never in a way that disturbed our enjoyment. Thanks all!
View More


We Could Have Stayed Forever!

Jul 17, 2014 by Jonathan & Julie Day

Everything actually exceeded my expectations. The guides were not only efficient and competent at all aspects of their jobs, but also engaging conversationalists and recreation leaders. The hikes were some of my favorite parts of the overall trip. The food was wonderful. I couldn't believe how much they could do with what they brought on a boat! Our trip on the Yampa and Green River with Holiday was everything we could have hoped for and more. For some members of our party this was a second Yampa trip with Holiday, and they loved it just as much as they did 28 years ago if not more. For the rest of us it was amazing to see that it was everything we had been told to expect, but even better. We could have stayed on the river forever!!
View More


Every Need Was Met, Thank You

Jul 16, 2014 by Terri Whitt

Each and every one of the guides on our trip was exceptional, wonderful people, willing to help and provide excellent customer service. Our rafting trip was exceptional, made even better by the guides on this trip. Customer service, the willingness to please and meet our every need, far surpassed out expectations. Great job.
View More


Nice Contrast Of Relaxation & Excitement!

Jul 16, 2014 by Jeanne Carlson

Our guides were terrific! Ben and Julian took great care on the river, shared ecological concerns, and had good knowledge on history of the area. They were wonderful cooks, tireless oarsmen, had great senses of humor, and were lots of fun and very helpful and polite. It was great to be able to hike once and a while. Transportation to the put in and from the take out was just fine. I appreciated the air conditioning! Oh, the kayaks were fun too! The overall experience for me was memorable. Being in the beautiful Cataract Canyon was amazing. I was in awe of the river with it's time of calm water and it's time of rough and tumble powerful rapids. Relaxation versus total excitement! The companionship of the eight other women on this trip made it very special for me. It was amazing to not have to cook and clean up! The menus and food were wonderful. Thank you for a wonderful experience! I would love to do this again with my whole family!
View More


Same Trip, Different Experience

Jul 15, 2014 by Julie Guiney

Everything is done very well and the guides are super personable. We did the exact same trip over the exact same weekend as last year and had a totally different experience. The water was running about twice as fast so although it felt like we were on the river about the same amount of time the 1st and 2nd day, we got in a lot more hikes which were really fun, too. The guides were just as great as last years, very friendly and helpful and got us through the big rapid safe and sound. We stopped for lunch and camped overnight in all different locations which made exploring interesting. It was so nice to be on the river with huge canyon walls surrounding us and to be away from the day to day events of life. Thanks!
View More


Relaxing & Fun

Jul 14, 2014 by Marshall & Monica Carlson

The guides were great, attentive and fun to be around. The hikes were interesting and the guides delivered insightful information during each hike. Plus, they really respected the land and river and treated it well. We had a wonderful family vacation and will talk about our trip for years to come. Everything was easy, relaxing and fun -- just what a vacation should be. Plus, the food was tasty and healthy! The guides are knowledgeable, friendly and really want you to have a great time.
View More


The Little Colorado Was Spectacular

Jul 14, 2014 by Debbie Craig Nicholson

I really liked each of the guides. They were very different and each had his/her strengths and distinct personality. The blend truly added to the experience. Thank you again. What a great family trip that my 22 yr old son and my 14 yr old son loved. Rapids were fun, but not gnarly-scary. Loved the optional hikes to petroglyphs, ruins and how much our guides knew about the canyon. We all loved the Little Colorado day. Overall, there was spectacular scenery and we had a fabulous trip.
View More


1st Hand Geology

Jul 13, 2014 by Charles Willis

It was transformative, my first river trip. It really was, among other things, exposure to living geology.
View More


Unwinding On The River

Jul 13, 2014 by Peter & Carol Girardin

The guides were fantastic and made the trip. Food was outstanding and hikes were a nice break from the river. We traveled with grand kids and children and it was a perfect trip for all. No cell phones and lots of chances to see a beautiful part of our country and enjoy each other's company. Box wine never tasted so good after a long day hiking and on the river. I would highly recommend the trip for family-adventure travel.
View More


I Long For More River Time

Jul 11, 2014 by Kathleen Hannigan

LB and Chet were wonderful guides and I would highly recommend them. They made our trip a memorable one. The 5 day expedition I had with Holiday made me long for more. The guides and gear and food were all excellent. I can't wait to do it again!
View More


Holiday Quality

Jul 11, 2014 by Kenneth & Twyla Bartholomew

Holiday quality all the way. I do self-guided family trips annually, but keep coming back to Dee and Sue every few years for that great white-water, great food, and great guides. So many rivers, so little time!
View More


Our Guides Read The Group Perfectly

Jul 10, 2014 by Susie Kincade

Leading women on a river retreat has its challenges. They were all from various backgrounds, experiences and physical capabilities. Our guides read the river expertly, of course, but they also read the group and were very considerate of our elder participants. They also communicated well with me and the other group facilitator and were flexible in forming each river day so that we could experience all we wanted to and still have time for our group circles. Molly and Lauren were AMAZING and WONDERFUL!
View More


Loved The Safe Thrill Rides

Jul 09, 2014 by Ed & Pamela Girardin

The food was amazing. We couldn't believe what the guides could come up with meal after meal. The trip exceeded our expectations!! It was an amazing 5 days. The rapids were unbelievable and while it was a trilling ride - we always felt safe. The guides were amazing, we had Brin, Dave, Rocky and Alex. All were knowledgeable on the river and the terrain. Plus they were great people, easy to talk with and clearly loved their jobs. We hope to be back to do another trip soon.
View More


Loved Our Guides

Jul 07, 2014 by Anna Benvenuti

Our guides’ personalities matched up perfectly with our group. It was a perfect fit.
View More


Great From Start To Finish

Jul 07, 2014 by Dave & Kris Hanaman

Jesse, Molly, Mike and Dustin were outstanding guides. They earned their money on a couple of long and windy days, and earned our gratitude with their friendly-yet-professional demeanors and constant attentiveness. We had a great trip on the Yampa this weekend! As usual, everything was fantastic, from the pre-trip planning and communications to the pull out and departure.
View More


Bike Raft , USA 0.0 0.0 0 0 Reviews for my site